Incoming Students

 SOAR- Summer Orientation to Academics and Resources

 Join us July 6 or 7th- it is a great experience to orient you to university thinking, meet upper year students and meet some of your new classmates. Sign up here:

http://www.queensu.ca/studentexperience/summer-orientation-soar 

Watch our video invite here:

Important Evening dates

Fall 2018

Wednesday Sept 5- AM- MANDATORY- APSC 100 Module 2 orientation

Wed Sept 5 7:30pm-9:30pm FEAS welcome

Mon Sept 10/Tues Sept 11- WHMIS training

Tues Oct 2 APSC 171 midterm

Thurs Oct 4 Thanksgiving rescheduled courses

Monday Oct 8- Thanksgiving- no classes

Tuesday Oct 9- APSC 143 midterm

Thursday Oct 11- APSC 111 midterm

Tuesday Oct 16- APSC 131 midterm

Thursday Oct 18- APSC 151 midterm

Sunday Oct 21- MEA1 project due

Thursday and Friday Oct 25-26 Fall term break- no classes

Tuesday Nov 6- APSC 143 midterm

Thursday Nov 8 - APSC 171 midterm

Thursday Nov 15- APSC 111 midterm

Friday Nov 30- MEA2 Project due

Course Material 

Books- Textbook list will be posted in the summer- use the "Textbook search engine"- https://www.campusbookstore.com/welcome

OnQ- https://onq.queensu.ca/ -Math diagnostic quiz will be available after courses are loaded

Microsoft Office Learning Resources

The learning resources page also has useful Microsoft Office help for Word, Excel and Powerpoint. For the Excel/Word assignment, the help links for WORD may be very useful

Student Academic Success

Enhance your academic skills and habits – for free! Engineering and Applied Sciences require excellent problem-solving, time management, focus, and communication (both written and oral). Whether you battle procrastination every week or you wish to excel even more, Learning Strategies and the Writing Centre can help you learn to meet your academic goals.

Visit the Student Academic Success Services website) for online resources and workshop schedules (including “Midterm/Exam Prep: Studying for Math + Science Exams” and “Technical Writing: Clear and Concise Communications”). You’ll also find details on booking an individual consultation with a professional writing consultant or learning strategist. All our services are free for Queen’s students.

Important Official dates

Important dates for the term are posted on the Registrar's website.

CLICKER INFORMATION

Learning Catalytics

Excel Word Tutorial - (start here by clicking this link!)

As a Queen's student, you can download the entire Office 365 ProPlus suite for FREE!  It includes current versions of Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Outlook, OneNote, Skype for Business (Lync for Macs), and more.  Find out how to download the software so that you have the learning resources you need. Need help? Contact the Information Technology Support Centre! And remember: ITS will never ask for your NetID password! Excel Assignment will be due Sept 6.

 

Matlab- needs to be downloaded and installed by Sept 6.

Matlab download guide


updated June 8, 2018